Saturday September 18th-La Maison d’Erik Satie

by shoshin

Trois Morceaux en forme de poire

Le Grand Figaro

Le Figaro is clearly on its last legs….

With completely imbalanced wheels I could no longer steer it at any speed above 50kph.  And thusly we two trundled on towards Cherbourg.  The motorists on the motorways clearly delighted to see me.   Driving so slowly I was almost going backwards, I’d lost count of the number of fists that were shaken and horns that were blown.  Thankfully, without any rear view mirror view I drove on in complete oblivion.

 My detour off piste to the town of Honfleur however, was a definite requirement, the car on its last legs or not.  There was no way that I was leaving this country without getting a chance to visit the Musee Satie, the home of my most beloved composer Erik Satie. 

Many of you are familiar with my unrequited love of Satie.  Undervalued as simply an avant garde eccentric by many of his contemporaries, his music thankfully…

View original post 426 more words

