More Artistic Influences – Anselm Kiefer

by shoshin

The Ohio Expressionist

To the Unknown Painter, 1983
The Carnegie Museum of Art, Pittsburgh

German artist Anselm Kiefer is a contemporary German artist who was born March 8, 1945 shortly before the end of World War II.  Kiefer’s work explores the themes of destruction and rebirth.  I have been intrigued by his work since my first introduction to Kiefer in the early 1980’s at the Carnegie Museum of Art while I was a student at the Art Institute of Pittsburgh.

Kiefer describes his own artistic process as stimulated by Beuys’s philosophies: “Painting, for me, is not just about creating an illusion. I don’t paint to present an image of something. I paint only when I have received an apparition, a shock, when I want to ‘transform’ something. Something that possesses me, and from which I have to deliver myself.  Something I need to transform, to metabolize, and which gives me a reason to…

View original post 602 more words

